Paul Weller

Paul Weller Joins 2022 Live At The Piece Hall Summer Series

by Geoff Ford

PAUL WELLER HAS BEEN A MAJOR INFLUENCE ON THE BRITISH MUSIC SCENE FOR MORE THAN 40 YEARS.

British music icon Paul Weller has been added to this summer’s line-up for Live at The Piece Hall. The legendary singer-songwriter heads to Halifax on Sunday July 3 for a headline show at The Piece Hall’s historic and stunning open-air courtyard.

Paul Weller has been a major influence on the British music scene for more than 40 years. As frontman of The Jam he spearheaded the Mod revival in the late ’70s and early ’80s, scoring a string of hits before forming The Style Council. He then embarked on a stellar solo career and the last two years have been incredibly creative for Weller who has released no fewer than three new studio albums, all to widespread acclaim.

His 17th solo album An Orchestrated Songbook, released at the end of 2021, was recorded with award-winning arranger Jules Buckley and the BBC Symphony Orchestra. The album reimagines a selection of his vast catalogue including such classics as English Rose, Broken Stones, You’re the Best Thing, Wild Wood and You Do Something to Me.

An Orchestrated Songbook followed 2020’s On Sunset and Fat Pop: Volume 1 both of which topped the UK Album Chart during the global pandemic.

Weller’s live shows are the stuff of legend, mixing his unstoppable brand of high adrenaline rock with beautiful acoustic moments. Fans at The Piece Hall will be treated to an incredible evening from an artist who possesses a brilliant and diverse catalogue that remains ever relevant.

His show at the Piece Hall is presented by Cuffe and Taylor and The Piece Hall Trust. Nicky Chance-Thompson DL, CEO of The Piece Hall Trust, said: What can we say other than ‘wow’ – the legend that is Paul Weller is coming to The Piece Hall! Paul is a true music icon, someone who has not only written some of the most cherished songs of the last 50 years, but an artist who has influenced generations of songwriters.

“This is going to be another incredible night here at The Piece Hall. Many of this year’s headline shows sold out within hours of going on sale and we expect this will be another massively popular night.”

Paul Weller joins Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds, Primal Scream, Nile Rodgers and CHIC, Paloma Faith, Tom Jones and Tom Grennan among the headliners so far confirmed for the Live at The Piece Hall 2022 concert series.

Live At The Piece Hall 2022 dates:

Tuesday 21 June, Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

Friday 24 June, Nile Rodgers & CHIC

Saturday 25 June, Nile Rodgers & CHIC

Sunday 26 June, Pete Tong & The Heritage Orchestra Ibiza Classics

Friday 1 July, Tom Grennan

Saturday 2 July, Paloma Faith

Sunday 3 July, Paul Weller

Friday 8 July, Primal Scream

Sunday 10 July, Sir Tom Jones

* More artists and dates to be confirmed

 

Paul Weller’s tour also takes in the following northern dates:

Monday 4 April, Blackburn, King George’s Hall

Tuesday 5 April, York, Barbican

Wednesday 6 April, Hull, Venue

Friday 15 April, Manchester, O2 Apollo

Saturday 16 April, Newcastle, City Hall

Sunday 17 April, Newcastle, City Hall

Tuesday 19 April, Carlisle, Sands Centre

Wednesday 20 April, Bradford, St George’s Hall

Sunday 3 July, Halifax, The Piece Hall

ticketmaster.co.uk