Will Young

New Will Young Album Shows Sensitivity And Vulnerability

by Geoff Ford

Will Young gives us an insight into his record collection, and listening pleasure, with his new album Crying On The Bathroom to be released on 6 August through Cooking Vinyl. To whet the appetite, he has shared the title track ahead of the album, an emotive and uplifting interpretation of the pulsating track originally by MUNA.

The album features 10 tracks, originally by female artists, a delightfully easy and relaxing listen in typical Will Young style. His interpretations are sensitive and show a vulnerability, something Young does extremely well.

Crying on The Bathroom Floor was destined not only to be a single but the title of the album,” says Young. “For me, there is humour in the album title as well as sadness. My respect for MUNA is super high, they are just the sort of exciting, authentic act that make music worth listening to. It was a privilege to put my own spin on their song as well as a privilege to work with Richard X again on production. I also worked with (Andrew John Whiston) Wiz on the video, a director who I have returned to time and time again, both of whom I have a huge creative affinity with.”

In response to the track, MUNA says: “We’re so honoured that Will felt moved by our song and chose to not only put his own spin on it for his record of covers but also make it the title track.”

“I am looking forward to sharing the rest of the album with everyone,” Young adds. “These are all songs written by strong, authentic and challenging, individual women that I find utterly inspiring.”

The new single follows Young’s reworking of Bat For Lashes’ Daniel, which has already earned its place on the A-list playlist at BBC Radio 2, and the recent cover of Clare Maguire’s Elizabeth Taylor.

Elsewhere, the album features re-imagined versions of songs from Swedish artists Lykke Li (I Follow Rivers) and Robyn (Indestructible) and a beautiful version of London Grammar’s Strong. Bringing the track selection right up-to-date, Young includes Till There’s Nothing Left by US country artist Cam, from her album The Otherside released late last year.

“I’ve always enjoyed singing other people’s songs. There is a liberation to it”, says Young, “and I feel I have ended up with a piece of work that feels truly me, despite the songs not being written by me. I feel connection to the lyrics, and the stories, and the women who wrote them.”

“These are songs by women that I find utterly inspiring”

Crying On The Bathroom Floor track listing:

1. Daniel (original by Bat For Lashes)

2. Crying On The Bathroom Floor (original by MUNA)

3. Till There’s Nothing Left (original by Cam)

4. Indestructible (original by Robyn)

5. Strong (original by London Grammar)

6. I Follow Rivers (original by Lykke Li)

7. Everything Is Embarrassing (original by Sky Ferreira)

8. Losing You (original by Solange)

9. Missing (original by Everything But The Girl)

10. Elizabeth Taylor (original by Clare Maguire)

Will Young on tour, Photo Geoff Ford

This September Will embarks on a series of intimate live shows including a date at the City Varieties, Leeds. He will be performing several of the new tracks alongside classic songs acoustically and chatting with audiences. For more information, please visit Will’s Official Store.

Will Young 2021 tour dates:

Wednesday 1 September, Cardiff, Glee Club

Thursday 2 September, Glasgow, St Luke’s

Sunday 5 September, Leeds, City Varieties

Monday 6 September, London, Earth

Tuesday 7 September, London, Earth

Wednesday 8 September, Birmingham, Glee Club